Palanga Amber Museumadminlithuania
The Palanga Amber Museum was established on August 3, 1963. It is housed on the estate of Count Feliksas Tiskevicius (1865-1932). The estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten (1841-1924), was built in 1897. The PalangaBotanical Gardens, designed by the landscape architect Eduard Francois Andre (1840-1911), surround the Estate. The estate palace in the neo-renaissance style is an inseparable part of the park’s ensemble. A. Brusokas restored the palace in 1957. The Count Tiskevicius family resided in the palace until 1941. A descendant of the Counts, Alfredas Tiskevicius, now lives in Warshaw, On 22 May 1997, the Council of Palanga town granted the name of HONORARY CITIZEN of Palanga town to Alfredas Tiskevicius. The Palanga Amber Museum’s exposition takes up 15 rooms. About 4,500 exhibit pieces are found here. Visitors are acquainted with the formation, processing, practical application, and morphological variations of amber. The museum has a wealth of amber pieces with trapped insects or plants, a collection of unique pieces of amber, and examples of fossilized tree resin brought from all over the world.The Palanga Amber Museum is a branch of the Lithuanian Art Museum. About 8 million people have come to visit the Palanga Amber Museum. The Museum is becoming famous for its traditional cultural events. For 30 summers now the terrace has been home to the night serenade concerts. Interesting cultural events and meetings with artists take place in the Fireplace Hall of the Estate. During the interactive workshops that are held at the museum, the history of amber is told using modern means, and visitors are given the opportunity to make their very own interactive pendant!